Summer 2011 Virtual Conference Program

Family Tree University’s Summer 2011 Virtual Conference features 17 instructional videos in three tracks — tech, ethnic and research strategies. We’ve also got many live chats with our experts scheduled over the weekend—these are exclusive to conference attendees! Jump down to see the full listing.

Video Sessions

TECH TRACK

Amateur Photo Restoration
Host: Nancy Hendrickson
Learn how to fix and rescue your worn, torn or moldy photos. No previous photo editing experience is needed. Be prepared to be amazed at what you can accomplish with free online tools and a few easy photo editing tricks.


Build Your Research Toolbox
Host: Thomas MacEntee
Overwhelmed with the plethora of genealogy tech tools? This class will teach you how to combine the best resources into an easy-to-access, timesaving “dashboard” for your research.

Digital Preservation for the 21st Century
Host: Sunny Morton
Discover how to keep your digital collection safe from data rot, obsolescence and other dangers.

Digitize Your Genealogy Documents
Host: Nancy Hendrickson
Are you getting the highest quality possible from your genealogy document and photo scans? Learn how to safely remove photos or documents from old albums, prepare them for scanning, scan at different resolution settings, and organize your images.


Google Surname Search Secrets
Host: Lisa Louise Cooke
Discover tips and tricks to turn up your ancestors with common surnames—and weed out irrelevant search results to save time.


Reaching Into the Internet Archive
Host: Thomas MacEntee
Learn how to tap into digitized historical books and other ancestral artifacts at this free website dedicated to “universal access to all knowledge.”


Twitter for Genealogists
Host: Nancy Hendrickson
Learn how genealogists use Twitter to share their findings, break down brickwalls, promote family events, and help each other with research. We’ll show you how to sign up and find the people and organizations you “must follow.” The genealogy community is blossoming on Twitter and it needs you!

RESEARCH STRATEGIES TRACK

Making Sense of Pre-1850 Censuses
Host: Maureen A. Taylor
Don’t get tripped up by tick marks—this class will teach you techniques to tease useful clues from the early US censuses where all residents names weren’t recorded.


City Directories: Key to Your Family’s Past
Host: Maureen A. Taylor
Unlock answers about your ancestors! This class shows how you can track your family year by year, explore their neighborhood and use the clues you find in city directories as a springboard to other genealogical sources.


Using Naturalization Records
Host: Lisa A. Alzo
Follow your ancestors’ path to citizenship toward new ancestral discoveries. This class walks you through how and where to find naturalizations, and how to use the records as a springboard to your ancestors’ life in the old country.


Platting Rectangular Survey System Properties
Host: Diana Smith
Learn how to plat ancestral properties on the rectangular survey system, also known as the public land survey system.


Platting Metes and Bounds Properties
Host: Diana Smith
Early land records used indiscriminate survey systems — based on landmarks such as trees, rocks and rivers — that can befuddle even expert genealogists. We’ll offer help to plat ancestral properties described using metes and bounds.


At Home with the Family Archivist
Host: Sunny Morton
See preservation techniques in action with real-life examples and a house tour with Family Tree Magazine‘s Family Archivist.

ETHNIC RESEARCH TRACK

Finding Your East European Ancestors’ Village
Host: Lisa A. Alzo
To unlock church records and other documents in the old country, you need to know exactly where your clan lived. Discover tools and techniques to pinpoint your ancestral town in the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and other areas of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire.


German Newspapers in America
Host: Jim Beidler
Stateside ethnic newspapers can reveal much about your German ancestors. We’ll show you how to find and use them.


Irish Genealogy Online
Host: Rick Crume
Online resources for tracking down Irish ancestors are abundant — we’ll show you the best of the best and how to use them.


Strategies for Tracking Down English, Scottish and Welsh Ancestors
Host: Rick Crume
If you need help finding your British Isles ancestors, Rick Crume’s strategies will help you bust down brick walls.




Chat Schedule

Your Supermoderators

FTU instructor Nancy Hendrickson and High-Definition Genealogy founder Thomas MacEntee will be on call as conference supermoderators — joining in on message board discussions and live chats all weekend.

Virtual Conference registrants get exclusive access to live chats with our genealogy experts. No fancy software needed—just log on to the conference and join a live session!

All chats are text-based and 30 minutes long. If you can’t join a live session, no worries—all chat transcripts will be saved in the conference area for you to read at your leisure.

FRIDAY

Q&A with the Editors of Family Tree Magazine
Your hosts: Allison Stacy and Diane Haddad
Time: noon Eastern Daylight Time / 11 a.m. Central Daylight Time / 10 a.m. Mountain Daylight Time / 9 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time

Computer Boot Camp: Troubleshooting for Non-techies
Your host: Nancy Hendrickson
Time: 4 p.m. EDT / 3 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. MDT / 1 p.m. PDT

SATURDAY

Online Family Trees: Sharing Trees, Protecting Privacy and Collaborating with Strangers
Your host: DearMYRTLE
Time: noon EDT / 11 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. MDT / 9 a.m. PDT

Social Networking: Twitter, Facebook, Google+ — What’s Best?
Your host: Nancy Hendrickson
Time: 4 p.m. EDT / 3 p.m. CDT / 2 p.m. MDT / 1 p.m. PDT

Pick Thomas’ Brain: Ideas on Creative Approaches to Genealogy
Your host: Thomas MacEntee
Time: 8 p.m. EDT / 7 p.m. CDT / 6 p.m. MDT / 5 p.m. PDT

SUNDAY

Finding Living Relatives: Trace Your Roots Forward
Your host: Thomas MacEntee
Time: noon EDT / 11 a.m. CDT / 10 a.m. MDT / 9 a.m. PDT

Photo Preservation: Ask the Photo Detective
Your host: Maureen A. Taylor
Time: 3 p.m. EDT / 2 p.m. CDT / 1 p.m. MDT / noon PDT

Genealogy Travel: Share Tips for Shoestring Research Trips
Your host: Diana Smith
Time: 5 p.m. EDT / 4 p.m. CDT / 3 p.m. MDT / 2 p.m. PDT

Keep Genealogy Alive: How Do We Grow the Community?
Your host: Lisa Louise Cooke
Time: 8 p.m. EDT / 7 p.m. CDT / 6 p.m. MDT / 5 p.m. PDT