Interpreting German Records webinar

Have you found yourself squinting at the hard-to-read Gothic typeface of old Germanic records? Have you muddled through a translation of your ancestor’s scribbled German cursive? Or just felt generally boggled by the vocabulary surrounding German genealogy? Then this webinar is for you. Expert presenter James M. Beidler will help you decipher records from Munich to Berlin in this hour-long crash course on Interpreting German Records. Webinar attendees receive a free copy of Family Tree Magazine’s article “Evasive Maneuvers: Avoiding Germanic Genealogy Research Pitfalls”.

Plus: Get live advice on your real-life research quandaries! All attendees have the opportunity to ask questions during a live Q&A session at the end of the webinar.

Tuition:

$49.99 ($39.99 early bird until 3/7)

Date:

Thursday, March. 14

Time:

7pm EST/6pm CST/5pm MST/4pm PST

Format:

1-Hour Webinar

Instructor:

James M. Beidler


WHAT YOU’LL LEARN: 

  • How to arm yourself with resources to build vocabulary and decipher abbreviations.
  • A methodology for solving the quirks of the printed Gothic/Fraktur typeface in which books, forms, gazetteers and newspapers are found through the mid-20th century.
  • Getting started transcribing and translating the handwritten German cursive script in which most church and civil records are found.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>