How to Research Genealogy Records Program

Family Tree University’s One-Week Workshop: How to Research Genealogy Records features eight instructional videos about strategies for using essential genealogy records. We’re also planning many live chats throughout the week—these are exclusive to workshop attendees!

The How to Research Genealogy Records workshop features eight video classes, including encore presentations of some of our best sessions from Family Tree University Virtual Conferences. If you’ve attended one of our past Virtual Conferences, this event is a great way to catch up on great classes you missed—plus get involved with the chats and discussions happening over the course of the week.

Video Sessions

3 Cool Tools to Help With Your Newspaper Research
Host: Lisa Louise Cooke
You know that newspapers can reveal fascinating facts and details about your family, but how do you actually find those nuggets? This class gives you the scoop on tools that help you search papers of the past.

Acres of Records: The Homestead Act and Genealogy
Host: Thomas MacEntee
This 150-year-old law enticed settlement across the vast frontier by offering 160 free acres of public land to anyone willing to live on and improve it. This class explores sources for researching your homesteader ancestors.

City Directories: Key to Your Family’s Past
Host: Maureen A. Taylor
Unlock answers about your ancestors! This class shows how you can track your family year by year, explore their neighborhood and use the clues you find in city directories as a springboard to other genealogical sources.

Getting Creative with Death Records
Host: Diana Crisman Smith
When working with death records, many researchers stop at obituaries and death certificates. When those can’t be found or don’t provide enough information, where else can you look? Discover how using other records can help fill in the gaps.

Making Sense of Pre-1850 Censuses
Host: Maureen A. Taylor
Don’t get tripped up by tick marks—this class will teach you techniques to tease useful clues from the early US censuses where all residents names weren’t recorded.

Using Guardianship Records in Genealogical Research
Host: Marian Pierre-Louis
Answers about your brick wall ancestors may be hiding in guardianship records, generated in court cases involving orphaned children, inheritances, adoptions and other circumstances. Discover how tracking down these court records can pay off for your research.

Using Naturalization Records
Host: Lisa A. Alzo
Follow your ancestors’ path to citizenship toward new ancestral discoveries. This class walks you through how and where to find naturalizations, and how to use the records as a springboard to your ancestors’ life in the old country.

What’s in a Civil War Pension File?
Host: Diana Crisman Smith
Pensions go beyond a Union or Confederate soldier’s service to document all kinds of information about his life—even his immediate family. Discover the rich detail to be gleaned from these genealogically valuable records.

Live Chats

Workshop registrants get exclusive access to live group chats. No fancy software needed—just log on to the conference and join a live session!

All chats are text-based and 30 minutes long. If you can’t join a live session, no worries—all chat transcripts will be saved in the conference area for you to read at your leisure.

Computer Tips and Tricks
Monday, July 9
11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT/9 a.m. MT/8 a.m. PT

Genealogy Book Club
Tuesday, July 10
12 noon ET/11 a.m. CT/10 a.m. MT/9 a.m. PT

Open Chat
Tuesday, July 10
6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT/4 p.m. MT/3 p.m. PT

Favorite Genealogy Websites and Search Tricks
Wednesday, July 11
4 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT/2 p.m. MT/1 p.m. PT

Scanning Secrets
Thursday, July 12
11:30 a.m. ET/10:30 a.m. CT/9:30 a.m. MT/8:30 a.m. PT

Tips for On-Site Research at Libraries and Archives
Friday, July 13
1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT/11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. PT

Tracing Female Ancestors
Saturday, July 14
11 a.m. ET

Backing Up Your Genealogy Data
Sunday, July 15
11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT/9 a.m. MT/8 a.m. PT

Our Sponsors


Shop Family Tree: 2012 Spring Virtual Genealogy Conference Sponsor                 Family Tree Magazine: 2012 Spring Virtual Genealogy Conference Sponsor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>